Global Design Project 001

Standard

My upline, Brian King, is part of a design team that has started a new challenge, and I decided to play along!  The challenge was to use three colors: pink pirouette, smoky slate and so saffron.  I was all ready to get started when I realized that I didn’t have any smoky slate paper, and I never got around to ordering the smoky slate ink pad–oops!  I was beginning to panic until I remembered that a past My PaperPumpkin kit had used Smoky Slate, so I started rooting through my stack of orange boxes, and thankfully found the inkspot and an unused card base.  Whew!

Now–this is not a color combination that I would have thought of on my own, and I had to play around with the layout a little bit, but I admit that I am really happy with the end result!  For the sentiment, I know it looks a little washed out–the ink spot was probably a bit dry, but it does add some extra contrast!  I had the label bracket punch laying on my desk from another project, and I just happened to try it out-and it fit!  I like the different look.  I did pop the sentiment up with dimentionals.  The pink butterfly helps fill in the big blank area in the upper right of the card–you could also use a flower, but I’m on a butterfly kick these days!  A few pearls for some bling, and I think it is perfect!

018

Stamps:  I Think You’re Great

Ink:  Smoky Slate

Paper:  Smoky Slate, So Saffron, Pink Pirouette, Whisper White

Misc:  Label Bracket Punch, Elegant Butterfly Punch, Circle framelits, 2 3/8″ scallop circle punch, corner rounder punch, pearls, dimentionals

Go check out the challenge here:

GDP001_Colour_Challenge

http://www.global-design-project.com/2015/09/global-design-project-gdp001.html

and play along!

{{{hugs}}}

Sharon

7 responses »

  1. Sharon – I love the layering of your shapes for the sentiment and the rounded edges on one of your panels. Glad you were able to find Smoky Slate in one of your Paper Pumpkin kits 🙂 – what a handy tool! Thank you so much for playing along with this week’s Global Design Project color challenge!

  2. This is a lovely card Sharon. I think it has turned out wonderful. How clever of you to use the ink from a paper pumpkin. Too funny. We love your Upline Brian, such a privilege to have him in the Design Team. Thank you so much for playing along with this week’s Global Design Project color challenge! Look forward to seeing you play along with us again.

  3. Hi Sharon! I agree with you, you could use a flower but I love the fact you’re on a ‘butterfly kick’ too. This sets it off nicely. For someone who would not usually have thought of this colour combination, you’ve certainly pulled it off. Thanks so much for playing along to our first Global Design Project. Louise xo

Leave a Reply

